Ash Wednesday

Today is Ash Wednesday. “Remember that you are dust and into dust you shall return”. The ashes of last year’s palms (the palms laid in rejoicing and the entry of Christ into Jerusalem) are placed on the forehead in the form of a cross.

Ash Wednesday is the beginning of lent, the 40 days (not counting Sundays) before Easter.

I love the beauty and symbolism. From the joy of Christ’s entry to Jerusalem, to the deep sorrow that our actions contributed to his suffering, to the rebirth allowed by his sacrifice. To me the ash is evidence of how we should be already..we should be His, we should be aware of our humility and dependence on Him.

One of my favorite scriptures talks about a transition from ashes to beauty : “To appoint unto them that mourn in Zion, to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the Lord, that he might be glorified.”—Isaiah 61:3

A miracle. We bring Him ashes and in return he gives us beauty.

Beauty. What kind of beauty would the Lord give us? The world presents us with this concept of beauty that is flawless, artificial, shiny and showy. Las Vegas comes to mind, or new York Fashion week.

In contrast, just last week my 3yo came inside with the first wild flowers of the year for me.

This Ash Wednesday, I want to remember the beauty God has given me over and over again. All this Fly Lady stuff.  Cleaning has allowed me to focus more on th beauty that is already given to me, instead of the mess and clutter that can be so overwelming.  It seems impossible that a pile of papers or dishes could really distract from all that we have been given, but it does.  Today I’m going to spend some time looking at the beauty in my home…starting here: Lydia and Abigail bringing me the first wild flowers

This entry was posted in Monday motivations. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ash Wednesday

  1. FlyBaby Cyndi says:

    I agree!!

  2. Mama Rachel says:

    What a lovely post! I really appreciate your heartfelt words today, lady! 🙂 Love ya!

Leave a Reply

