anything worth doing is worth doing badly.

Have you ever heard this quote? It’s a perfect yet dangerous quote for a perfectionist procrastinator like me. I’m not actually a perfectionist, but in some certain cases…cases in which I will avoid doing something because I won’t have the time, energy, perfect storage thingy, house structure, or whatever else I can come up with. It’s the guilt free excuse of I would do that but I can’t…sorry. oh look facebook.

I’ve heard that quote used for so many things…homeschooling, cleaning, music, exercise… you have to start some where. Start where you are. My brain quickly dodges that little motivational tidbit with something akin to “something this important should be done right”. But until I googled it today I didn’t know that was only part of the quote. The whole quote is this…” Anything worth doing is worth doing poorly until you learn to do it well. ”

oh.

huh. my excuses don’t work as well for that. Just maybe that’s a good idea. Now I do think there should be planning and thought…preparation. It’s just that any good procrastinator knows that there is a tipping point at which planning and preparation become an avoidance technique.

Now I balance my inefficiency well..not only can I procrastinate, but I can also rush in and do it badly and make it all lastingly worse in a matter of mniutes. Really, it’s a talent. I’m sure it’s an innate part of me…related to my lack of sensor between my brain and mouth and my speedy digestive system that manages to gain weight, but can’t handle sugar. Some things just don’t even occur to me. This is true especially in the crafty, homemakey kind of fields. A little planning and thought could make this whatever I’m going to buy match all the other whatevers because I need to buy them anyway and they will look better matching. But that frequently doesn’t even occur to me until after the fact. Very very frequently.

I’ve been pondering about my procrastination abilities (really it’s self analysis not another procrastination technique 😉 ). How do you tell if this is a situation in which a little preparation will make a huge difference, or if this is a situation in which just getting it done even if it’s not done perfectly will make a big difference? Hey I bet I could waste a ton of time figuring that out!

This whole thought process started with a chore chart. I have frequently whipped out a chore chart in ten minutes flat and called it good…then watched it go the way of all chore charts, sure that children just avoid work and just don’t like to help and it’s easier to do it myself. I’m equally sure if I take the time and do it just martha stewart right, it will be a beauty to be hold and be so efficient and motivating, my children will cheerfully do their part to bring our home to a zen like state. maybe my expectations are a little wonky. Maybe I it’s easier to whine about children not helping more than I enjoy teaching them how to help and following through.

Any chore chart takes time. Chores also have to be taught…children work best if things are borken down in to specific steps. Anyone who has ever tried to clean a room with a child, or with themselves knows, it’s nice to be told where to start and to be cheered on in the process.

What’s this you say? This blog is false advertizing. Anyone who can introduce you to the Family Work article must inherently be the model to be followed and have some sort of Waltons family with everyone working together…um no.

I’m going to put the WHOLE quote on my fridge and not stop after the first failed attempt at a chore chart. Neither am I going to wait around and hope the perfect chore chart falls into my lap for only 79.95. I keep talking about it…keep threatening my children with it…it’s time. I know it has to be fairly simple, because *I* have to follow through on it, and I know me. It needs to be specific, so that it can be easily understood. It also needs to be reasonably nice to look at…so it doesn’t annoy me to bits. Wish me luck.

This entry was posted in Monday motivations. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

